Ten reasons 2011 will be great!

The new year is finally here. Happy new year, everyone!

While 2010 was a great year for the fantasy genre, with some amazing new releases, it was also the year where a number of books that were promised to us were sadly postponed. We’ll be looking back at last year in a couple days, when we release our list of last year’s top ten books.

Today, however, it is time to look ahead. What a good year we have before us! Those books that were supposed to come last year will hopefully be released in 2011, but there is so much more than just that.

Here are our ten reasons why 2011 will be a great year. Many thanks to everyone following The Ranting Dragon on Twitter who helped compose this list.

1. The Wise Man’s Fear
Patrick Rothfuss has kept us waiting long enough. Obviously, though, the time and care he takes in writing is part of what makes his books so good. According to the early review at Tor.com, the book is worth waiting for. The Wise Man’s Fear will finally come in March 2011!
2. A lot of George R.R. Martin
Yes, 2011 will finally be the year for fans of George R.R. Martin’s A Song of Ice and Fire. Not only will A Dance with Dragons, the long awaited fifth book in the series, be published, HBO will also premiere their new TV series based on the first book.
3. Malazan: Last Book of the Fallen
February of this year will mark the end of an era that began twelve years ago when Steven Erikson released Gardens of the Moon, the first novel in the Malazan: Book of the Fallen series. The Crippled God will be the tenth and final volume, and if the cover is any indication, it will be a good one!
4. Some great debuting authors
2011 won’t only be the year of new books in existing series; it’s also the year of some great fantasy debuts. One of these is the hyped The Unremembered by Peter Orullian. And there will be so many more. How about Kameron Hurley’s God’s War, for example, or Elspeth Cooper’s Song of the Earth?
5. The final Harry Potter movie
Honestly, the first part of Harry Potter and the Deadly Hallows was a bit of a downer, but all that means is that the second part will be truly epic. The downside is that we’ll have to wait until July to see it.
6. Two concluded trilogies
Two amazing fantasy trilogies will see their third and final volume published in 2011. First of these is the Memory of Flames trilogy by Stephen Deas, with The Order of the Scales coming out in May. That will be followed by N.K. Jemisin’s Inheritance Trilogy, with The Kingdom of Gods in October.
7. Sequels to awesome books and series
The books above won’t be the only sequels coming out in 2011. One book that we at The Ranting Dragon are really anticipating is Spellbound, the sequel to Blake Charlton’s Spellwright. Additionally, many of us are looking forward to The Republic of Thieves, the third volume in Scott Lynch’s Gentleman Bastard Sequence. And might 2011 bring us The Daylight War, sequel to Peter V. Brett’s The Warded Man and The Desert Spear? We hope so.
8. Sanderson and Weeks short novels
Apparently, 2011 is also the year of short novel revisits to trilogy worlds from the past that we all loved. Both Brandon Sanderson and Brent Weeks are releasing short novels. Sanderson’s Alloy of Law is set years after his Mistborn trilogy, while Weeks is releasing a Durzo Blint novella, a prequel to his Night Angel trilogy.
9. A bunch of other genre movies
Harry Potter isn’t the only genre movie coming in 2011. The one we’re looking forward to most is Sucker Punch, which combines fantasy, steampunk and sci-fi. Other movies to look forward to include Thor, Conan the Barbarian, Pirates of the Carribean: On Stranger Tides and Your Highness. And for some of you, 2011 offers some vampires and werewolves as well.
10. …And so much more!
As if those nine reasons weren’t enough, the new year offers so much more. What to think of the game Dragon Age II? On top of that, there will be a whole lot of new releases in the new year. Just take a look at our upcoming releases page to keep up to date.

Have a great year of fantasy, everyone!

About Stephan van Velzen

Stephan van Velzen
A 31 year-old Communications student, Stephan loves publicity and design, particularly web design. When he’s not designing websites, he can be found in a comfy chair reading a fantasy book. In The Ranting Dragon, he has found a way to combine these passions and discover a new love for writing to boot. Stephan lives in a small town in The Netherlands with his wife Rebecca, an editor for The Ranting Dragon, and their two cats.

Check Also

Film Review of Captain America: The Winter Soldier

Marvel’s Cinematic Universe can do no wrong in its second phase, which has started after The …

6 comments

  1. Woohoo! My suggestions made the list. Thanks. 🙂

  2. Woah, where did you hear that Republic of Thieves and A Dance of Dragons were coming out this year? I haven’t seen any information on release dates.

  3. I’m dieing to watch Game of Thrones!
    After Legend of the Seeker canceled, i really need new epic fantasy series!

    There is also another series that might worth the attention. “Camelot”. ^^

  4. It does sound like an awesome year! I would not have known half of this… xD

  5. What about Skyrim? WHAT ABOUT SKYRIM!?!?

Leave a Reply