Under Heaven by Guy Gavriel Kay

In Guy Gavriel Kay’s stand-alone novel Under Heaven, Shen Tai takes it upon himself to bury the dead at Kuala Nor, the site of a horrendous battle between Tai’s country Kitai and a rival nation, in honor of his recently deceased …

Read More »

Enchanted Glass by Diana Wynne Jones

Enchanted Glass is Diana Wynne Jones’s last published book before her death on March 26, 2011. The novel is a charming young adult standalone in Wynne Jones’s trademark style, beloved by many and unique in British children’s literature. Professor Andrew …

Read More »

Sabriel (Abhorsen #1) by Garth Nix

Sabriel is the first novel in Garth Nix’s young adult Old Kingdom series (Abhorsen Trilogy in North America). Nix was Guest of Honor at the 2009 World Fantasy Convention and was invited to emcee the Hugo Awards ceremony at Aussiecon4 in 2010.  …

Read More »