General News

Free Giveaway of The Providence of Fire by Brian Staveley

feature2

Due out tomorrow is Brian Staveley’s new novel The Providence of Fire. It’s the sequel to The Emperor’s Blades, an amazing epic fantasy novel in the tradition of Brandon Sanderson and George R. R. Martin. If you haven’t read it yet, I encourage you to do so. It’s a great read! To celebrate the release of The Providence of Fire, Brian ... Read More »

Giveaway: Lockstep by Karl Schroeder

lockstep-large

Today, we’re thrilled to have a hardcover copy of Karl Schroeder’s Lockstep up for grabs, courtesy of the generous folks over at Tor. To win this hardcover copy of Lockstep, all you have to do is fill out the form below with your name and email address. Unfortunately, this giveaway is open to residents of the US and Canada only. ... Read More »

Film Review of Captain America: The Winter Soldier

captain-large

Marvel’s Cinematic Universe can do no wrong in its second phase, which has started after The Avengers and leads up to Avengers: Age of Ultron. While Iron Man 3’s plot twist annoyed fans, it was still the highest grossing film of last year. Thor 2: The Dark World didn’t perform as spectacularly as Iron Man 3, but still reached the box-office ... Read More »

Free Giveaway: Signed InCryptid Novels by Seanan McGuire

The InCryptid novels by Seanan McGuire have quickly become one of my favorite urban fantasy series, and for me that’s saying something. For those who are unfamiliar with the series, the books feature protagonists from the Price family, a family of cryptozoologists dating back generations. They have one charge:  to protect the cryptids (monsters) of the world from extinction at ... Read More »

Geekery Grab Bag: Zeppelin Attack! Kickstarter

If you’re on the Eastern Seaboard of the US, happy snow day!  Hope your snow day is filled with relaxed productivity.  Aside from reading and writing reviews, I thought I’d give you, dear readers, a glimpse of my afternoon project. Clearly the desk of an evil mastermind. Muahahaha.   Pictured above is the print-and-play rendition of Zeppelin Attack!, the next ... Read More »

Top 20 Best Fantasy and Science Fiction Novels of 2013

large (2)

Wow, I can’t believe this is the fourth time already that we’re posting a list of our favorite novels of the year. And what a year 2013 was! The speculative genre, with all its varying subgenres, is constantly growing in quality and volume. It never ceases to amaze me to see the refreshingly original ideas that new authors release and ... Read More »

Upcoming on the Dragon: An Editor’s Note

This week’s been a little on the dull side here at The Ranting Dragon, and I apologize for that. It’s the holiday season, which means life for all of our staff members is just that much more hectic than usual. Which isn’t a really good excuse, but it’s what we got. That being said, it’s a little late in the ... Read More »

State of the Dragon

Things have been kind of slow here at The Ranting Dragon recently. Scratch that, things have been dead. We’ve been slowly losing our momentum since the beginning of this year. Coupled with various factors that I will shortly cover in more detail, this has culminated in a pair of instances where our site produced no new publications for a few ... Read More »

Film Review: Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Parts 1 & 2

This review contains spoilers for all previous Harry Potter movies. The anticipation for these final films have been immense, the build-up monumental. The hordes of fans were nothing less than frothing at the mouth with the waiting. Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Parts 1 and 2 were the pinnacle of a generation’s media when it came to film. It heralded the ... Read More »

Film Review: The Wolverine

Inspired by the giant success of Marvel’s Cinematic Universe, Twentieth Century Fox has decided to use their X-Men rights to create a cinematic universe of their own. Complete with post-credit bonus scenes for upcoming films, the X-Men universe is set to begin with James Mangold’s The Wolverine, which came out in theaters on July 26. The Premise Set up as ... Read More »